A Postcard from Italy!

Now I know it’s been rather a long time since my last post…I was er, giving you plenty of time to explore the fantastic websites I posted up 2 weeks ago! Well thats the best excuse I could come up with…my other excuse is of course I went to Italy for a week 😀

I apologise for the lack of cakeage in this post (I did try to find some!) But alas all I found were cookies and liquorice, so you’ll have to make do with my holiday snaps! Enjoy x

Verona…

Lightbulbabge!

The crazy Vitra House

Naked Tree…

Upholstered Bambi

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it’s a bizarre looking rubber vase…obviously…

‘Coat Hanger’ …geddit? Cos’ it’s made out of hangers…moving on…

What is it? A cake stand. How much is it? £2000. At that point I walked away from the shop assisstant in stunned silence. (Notice the little pointy finger on top!)

These 2 goldy bits are by Studio Job just in case anyone had £2000 to splash on prettyful cake stands and biscuit/jelly barrels…I’m saving up.

Cardboard Gorilla!

St Marco’s square in the day…

St Marco’s square at night!

Managed to find the grumpiest Gondolerer (I don’t actually know if that’s what Gondola drivers are called, but calling them drivers didn’t quite seem right, perhaps striped wearing-stick wielding-girly hat wearing-boat steering Italians would have been better?!)

Wax skull

Creepy masks, no wonder they were discounted…

Venetian under crackers

The best baguette I ever had, and it was only 1 euro! It was freshly baked, with green olives inside and smoked ham. Italians know how to do fast food.

1 metre of pure black liquorice

Wall of cookies

The Ronchamp Chapel by Mr. Corbusier

A rainbow of chairs…

Hand blown cake dome…want

Half burnt tree

Yoko Ono’s wish tree; you write your wish on a piece of paper and one day it will come true!

Questionable looking light…

Best sculpture ever.

Venice!

Found a rainbow on the floor…

Cake pans as light shades, genius, if not a little impratical when you want to bake a cake…

More Venice…

My amazing pop corn bucket (plastic) invited many a confused question from passers by…

So that was the week that was…in Italy! In case you’re wondering why the pictures are heavily biased towards spaces and furniture, I’ll let you in on a lil Ellie fact; I’m studying spatial design at uni, and I bagged a lift on the furniture design course to Milan, because who’s going to pass up a trip to Milano? 😉

Cake will be back don’t fear! I won’t be changing the blog to Furnitureatemysoul, doesn’t quite have the same ring to it…x

This entry was posted in January 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

